Adding a new language on LingQ

Hello there, I just joined today and I want to tell you that your site is really great,
I have been studying German for a few weeks and had trouble finding simple texts,
which I found a lot of here.
So, I would like to thank the founder\s of LingQ and the contributers for helping me so much. thank you
My native language is Hebrew, and I would be glad to help anyone that wants to learn it. But i noticed this doesn’t hold an Hebrew section… so is there a way to add one, or maybe it isn’t popular enough?
Either way great site.
Thanks in advence

P.S: I’m sorry if my English is not all that good, I guess im practicing my English too…

Welcome Danny! I am quite new to LingQ too. Your question is very interesting. I know Korean was launched some days ago after no language had been added for a long time. Actually, I don’t know why it isn’t possible to open new sections if there are members willing to provide content (as it is the case for Czech too). I would love it if more languages were added soon.

Michele

P.S. I think your English is very correct.

Welcome, Danny. I’m glad you like the site. We have had some great beginner content provided by our members in German.

We are unlikely to add Hebrew any time soon although we would love to have it someday. As mikebond says, we just added Korean after not adding another language in well over a year. We are going to see how that progresses before trying to introduce other languages.

@mark “we just added Korean after not adding another language in well over a year.”

I hope this doesn’t mean that we won’t see Arabic on LingQ for at least a year… :frowning:

@Aineko - Sorry to disappoint you but I wouldn’t be holding my breath for Arabic. We would like to have it, too, one day but Arabic has its own unique challenges that we are unlikely to have time for anytime soon. I just don’t want to get anyone’s hopes up… :slight_smile: