Absolutely newbie at Japanese - some thoughts

Hi, I just signed up for LingQ last night (for Japanese). I’m an absolute beginner.

As a web designer and app developer myself, I always appreciate comments from someone with a fresh pair of eyes, and I have some experience in reviewing sites. LingQ got my attention because I have been thinking about a developing a language-learning site myself. Here are my observations, after just about an hour playing with the site.

I’m going to pretty much write my impressions verbatim. Even though some were misunderstandings, I believe it is important to capture these so that they can be corrected.

Learning a non-Roman language seems to offer additional challenges that don’t seem to be particularly well thought out on LingQ. I will try to explain more below.

1. Pre-sign-up. I feel there was not enough detail about the product being offered before sign-up. If I had not wanted to develop a language-learning site myself, I would not have signed up, because there was not enough detail about what LingQ had to offer. All I could see, really is the home page: http://www.lingq.com/ and the two videos at Learn languages online: English, German, Russian, Japanese... - LingQ

I suggest to make some of the introductory content available for viewing without signup, so that people can see how this method of learning works for them.

1. Before I get into specifics, I would say in general that the site design is good, but it is slow. I believe that improving the site speed is necessary to improve the usability. The core problem is there are too many resources loaded on each page load. (184 URL’s resolved for the beginner japanese page!). This should get reduced to something like 30 or so as a start to get decent performance.