500 days at LingQ and 4 million words later

I just reached my 500 days streak at Lingq. This momentum coincides with reaching 60000 know words in Russian and 4 million words read, which was my main goal to reach before March 1.
I started learning Russian in Februari 2021 without a clear need. After 6 months, I discovered LingQ. The first few months, I set myself the goal to read 3000 words/day which later on grew to 5000 and 7000 words/day. I didn’t care much about ‘known words’ or ‘learned LingQs’. Buit I guess I just needed some competitive strategy to hold on to and 50000 words a week seemed possible. I start and end my day with reading/listening and usually also spend some time on LingQ during the day. I mainly import videos with subtitles, and magazine articles (for reading in bed without audio).

Outside LingQ
Next to LingQ, I follow the main language YT-channels, I listen to podcasts and I have video meetings 2-3 times/week to practice speaking with native Russian speakers. I don’t consdider myself a fluent speaker, but I can communicate freely in Russian. That said, I make many mistakes during speaking, mainly because my grammar is weak. I know the main rules, but I still do a lot of guessing to word endings (I just don’t like grammar exercises and forget easily). So I guess my level is about A2 (grammar) | B1 (speaking) | B2 (reading/listening).

I change my learning method and focus about every 4 months to keep the journey interesting and to get out of my comfort zone. LingQ is my main continuity. I read articles on everyday subjects or topics I find interesting. I am still not able to read novels, but I know some poems and songs by heart. The main problem with books is that after 5 pages I already stumbled on too much unknown words to continue reading with pleasure. Up to now I prefer interviews, lectures and webinars on interesting topics.

Next step